top of page

Juvenile criminal law

Juvenile criminal law is regulated in the Juvenile Courts Act (JGG). The JGG is characterized by the idea of education. However, it is based on the criminal offenses of general criminal law. Juveniles and adolescents are to be prevented from committing further offenses through various available measures.

 

According to the JGG, educational measures (such as instructions, conditions or youth detention) may be considered. Furthermore, a juvenile sentence may also be imposed.

The decisive factor in determining whether juvenile criminal law applies is the age at which the offense was allegedly committed.

The age of criminal responsibility begins at the age of 14, before which there is no criminal liability.

 

The Juvenile Courts Act distinguishes between juveniles and adolescents. A juvenile within the meaning of the Juvenile Courts Act is anyone between the ages of 14 and 18 at the time of the offense. An adolescent within the meaning of the JGG is someone who is 18 but not yet 21 years old at the time of the offense.

The difference is important because the provisions of the JGG always apply to juveniles. The JGG does not apply comprehensively to adolescents as it does to juveniles. In addition, it must be positively established that juvenile criminal law is to be applied. Otherwise, the stricter adult criminal law is applied.

You can find further information about juvenile criminal law in my Blog post on juvenile criminal law

If you are a young person or adolescent or your child has been accused of a crime, please feel free to contact me Contact.

bottom of page

top of page

Jugendstrafrecht

Das Jugendstrafrecht ist im Jugendgerichtsgesetz (JGG) geregelt. Das JGG ist vom Gedanken der Erziehung geprägt. Es knüpft jedoch an die Straftatbestände des allgemeinen Strafrechts an. Jugendlichen und Heranwachsende sollen durch verschiedene zur Verfügung stehende Maßnahmen davon abgehalten werden, weitere Straftaten zu begehen.

 

Nach dem JGG kommen etwa Erziehungsmaßregeln (wie Weisungen, Auflagen oder Jugendarrest) in Betracht. Ferner kann auch die Verhängung einer Jugendstrafe erfolgen.

Maßgeblich für die Beurteilung, ob das Jugendstrafrecht zur Anwendung kommt, ist das Alter, zu dem Zeitpunkt als die Tat vermeintlich begangen worden ist.

Die Strafmündigkeit beginnt mit 14 Jahren, davor scheidet eine Strafbarkeit aus.

 

Das Jugendgerichtsgesetz unterscheidet in Jugendliche und Heranwachsende. Jugendlicher i.S.d. JGG ist, wer zur Tatzeit zwischen 14 und 18 Jahre alt ist. Heranwachsender i.S.d. JGG ist, wer zur Tatzeit 18 aber noch nicht 21 Jahre alt ist.

Der Unterschied ist von Bedeutung, da bei Jugendlichen stets die Vorschriften des JGG Anwendung finden. Bei Heranwachsenden gilt das JGG nicht umfassend wie bei Jugendlichen. Zudem muss positiv festgestellt werden, dass Jugendstrafrecht zur Anwendung kommen soll. Andernfalls wird nach dem strengeren Erwachsenenstrafrecht bestraft.

Weitere Informationen rund um das Jugendstrafrecht erhalten Sie in meinem Blogbeitrag zum Jugendstrafrecht

Wenn Sie Jugendlicher oder Heranwachsender sind oder ihrem Nachwuchs eine Straftat vorgeworfen wird, treten Sie gerne mit mir in Kontakt.

bottom of page